Saturday, July 21, 2018

Dorking Wanderers 5 - Horsham 2

Dorking Wanderers
Tolfrey 61', 65' Sole 67', 72' Taylor 83'
Smith 23' Richardson-Brown 31'

Meadowbank Stadium, Dorking
Saturday July 21 2018

Horsham surrendered a commanding 2-0 lead at half-time at Dorking Wanderers’ new Meadowbank Stadium, as the home side hit five in a devastating second half revival to lift the Jacob Sylvester Trophy.

With Heybridge Swifts having beaten Walton Casuals in the first of the three games to be played during the day, both sides knew that they would need to outscore the previous 3-0 result if they were to win the tournament, with an additional point per goal up for grabs.

The impressive new features at the ยฃ5.5 million revamped complex appeared to work in Horsham’s favour as Dom Di Paola’s side went to work in industrious fashion despite the summer heatwave showing no signs of abating, and it was the visitors who struck first with a deserved lead after probing early on as Chris Smith volleyed in, while Tyrell Richardson-Brown doubled The Hornet’s advantage with a clean finish on thirty-one minutes.

Horsham looked well worth their lead at the interval, but Dorking Wanderers went through the gears during the second half and turned the game completely on it’s head with three goals in six minutes. Former Hornet Tom Tolfrey grabbing a brace to bring things level, beforeย Giuseppe Sole took over and added a further two goals himself – including a brilliantly executed free-kick – while Lewis Taylor wrapped things up seven minutes from time.

Hampton and Richmond Borough’s 1-0 victory against Merstham later on that evening confirmed Dorking would not have to wait to open up the trophy cabinet as they settle into their new home.

Horsham are next in action as pre-season continues on Tuesday evening with a home game at Culver Road as we entertain AFC Portchester, before we make the long journey to Cornwall to take on Newquayย on Saturday 28th July.

Reporter: Matt Dale


  • 1Brannon Daly
  • 2Steve Metcalf
  • 3Joey Taylor
  • 4George Landais
  • 5Joe Shelley
  • 6Charlie Harris
  • 7Tyrell Richardson-Brown
  • 9Lee Harding
  • 10Chris Smith
  • 12George Hayward
  • 15Dean Lovegrove
  • 4Jack Hartley
  • 8Toby House
  • 16Tony Nwachukwu
  • 17Dean Bown
  • 19Matt Axell

Dorking Wanderers