Dean Wheeler has been crowned the winner of the first ever Horsham FC Darts Championship.

Eighteen players of varying abilities took to the oche to compete for the title but it was Wheeler who came out on top, beating Ian Burlinson 2-0 in the final.

Taking place immediately after last Saturday’s defeat to Margate, the pre-tournament favourite Wheeler took out a 104-finish, the highest checkout of the day, to book his place in the final

Meanwhile, Burlinson, his fellow finalist, was a last-minute replacement, yet he charged through the tournament with his high scoring and clinical double-hitting.

However he could do nothing as Wheeler comfortably took home first prize.

The tournament will return for next year even bigger and better so, watch this space, it could be you lifting the trophy in 2020!

Full Results –

Preliminary Round (Best of three legs, 301):

  1. Howard Neal 0-2 Colin Rogers

First Round (Best of three legs, 401):

  1. Dean Wheeler 2-0 Jack Everley
  2. Alex Rogers 1-2 Colin Rogers
  3. Neil Clarke 2-1 Chris Holmes
  4. Beth Eggleden 2-0 Pete Tanner
  5. Ian Burlinson BYE – Neil Axon
  6. Alan Arnold 2-0 Heinz Arthur
  7. Andy Meadus 2-1 Al Morris
  8. Darren Jestico 0-2 Matt Jones

Quarter Finals (Best of three legs, 301):

  1. Dean Wheeler 2-0 Colin Rogers
  2. Neil Clarke 0-2 Beth Eggleden
  3. Ian Burlinson 2-0 Alan Arnold
  4. Andy Meadus 2-1 Matt Jones

Semi Finals (Best of three legs, 301):

  1. Dean Wheeler 2-1 Beth Eggleden
  2. Ian Burlinson 2-0 Andy Meadus

Final (Best of three legs, 401):

  1. Dean Wheeler 2-0 Ian Burlinson


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *