Sunday 17th November 2019
C P Mason Sussex County Cup 2nd round

The young Hornets welcomed a Peacehaven team to The Camping World Community Stadium for this second-round fixture of the Sussex C P Mason County Cup. Early exchanges were well contested and equal as both teams played some tidy, controlled football with each ‘keeper called upon to produce early saves to ensure the scores stayed level. It was Horsham who took the lead, with Stan Berry crossing from wide right for Frankie Mills to fire home from a tight angle. This allowed the yellows to calm down and settle into a good rhythm as they passed the ball around well which saw Theo Brown feed a good ball into Berry who cut inside to fire, left-footed, past the Peacehaven keeper to make it 2-0 to Horsham. This was how the first half ended, with Peacehaven coming back into the game but Monty Watson-Price, the Horsham shot stopper, was in possession of a clean sheet at the break.

The second half started brightly for the yellows as another Berry cross found Ollie Randall who headed home a third goal for the home side. The Hornets were now buzzing, swarming over Peacehaven through all areas of the pitch which allowed Berry the opportunity to run at the Telscombe goal where he cut inside to fire home again for his second and Horshamโ€™s fourth. There was no let up now, as Horsham kept surging forward and from a resulting corner Frankie Mills scored with a rare header to get his second and the yellows fifth. The scoring frenzy was not over, the Hornets kept up relentless pressure with numerous shots and passes within the penalty area, the loose ball then fell to Nathan Jones who fired home for number six. As the game was drawing to a close, it was Alfie Maguire’s turn to get on the score sheet, after much frustration with earlier efforts being saved or put wide, he found the net after a clever cut back from Berry found him with an open goal to score into.

Horsham: Monty Watson-Price, Danny White, Nathan Jones, Theo Brown, Frankie Mills, Ethan Neylon-Lwin, Stan Berry, Oliver Randall, Mackenzie Mortimer, Jack Hayes, Alfie Maguireย  Subs:ย Jack New, Zach Jeanes, George Bowler, Charlie Killick, Cameron Joste

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *