The Hornets will include eight new signings in their squad for the 2019/2020 Isthmian League Premier Division campaign, that gets underway this Saturday.

Manager Dom Di Paola has confirmed the signing of 22 players in total, including key members of last season’s promotion-winning side, while former favourites Joey Taylor, Tyrell Richardson-Brown and Josh Pelling are among those to have moved on to pastures new. The signings will come as no surprise to anyone who has followed the Hornets’ fortunes this summer, with all bar one having featured in their pre-season schedule.

Josh James returns to the club after spending two months with the Hornets in 2017 and he’s one of three goalkeepers to join us this summer along with George Bentley, who played U18 Premier League football for Brighton & Hove Albion last season, and former Haringey Borough youngster Sebastian Oldham. Walton Casuals duo Harry Mills and Alex Kelly impressed during pre-season and supporters will be delighted to know that they, too, have committed their futures to the club along with ex-Worthing pair Zack Newton and Jared ‘Jaz’ Rance. We are also pleased to confirm the signing of Lea Dawson, who captained Cray Wanderers to two promotion play-offs in three seasons and, last year, was a member of the Cray Valley Paper Mills’ side that reached the final of the FA Vase at Wembley.

One player who won’t be featuring for the Hornets is Malachi Hudson, who scored twice against Hartley Wintney in pre-season. The ex-Welling United forward looked sharp in those early summer matches but with Di Paola unable to guarantee him a place in the starting lineup, it was agreed that Hudson could find another club. “He’s a really talented footballer” said Di Paola “but the travel will prove to be really hard for him as the season goes on. It’s alright in the middle of summer but when it’s freezing cold, or he’s caught in traffic, things like that, but then he’s travelling down a lot on his own. Also, he had a really stop/start season last year and I think he’s a player that needs to play every game. He deserves to and I think it’s going to be hard to get him that initially. I wanted to be fair to him, because I think he deserves to play, I think he’s a really talented footballer.”

We wish all our new signings a long and successful career with Horsham Football Club.

Full player bios on all of this season’s squad can be found here

The full squad is as follows:
Goalkeepers – Josh James, George Bentley, Sebastian Oldham
Defenders – Steve Metcalf, Harvey Sparks, Joe Shelley, Dylan Merchant, Will Miles, Dean Lovegrove, Harry Mills
Midfielders – George Hayward, Jack Brivio, Scott Kirkwood, Alex Kelly, Lea Dawson, Charlie Harris, Jared Rance, Lee Harding
Forwards – Rob O’Toole, Chris Smith, Kieran Lavery, Zack Newton



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *